Reasons Why Professional Photographers Cannot Work for Free

I don’t have to add anything to this. The author says it all.

But let me explain.

I’m not really a photographer, but I do shoot a few. My illustrations rely heavily on photography. Some of my friends are really good photographers and during those few times we talk about photography in a serious manner, the subject of clients always trying to con you into throwing away your for free is the norm. It’s the same with illustration, animation and digital art. We often try to do our calling in an uncompromising dedication, yet when it comes down to getting paid, we seem to be treated like another clerk at the office – “a transport allowance would do just fine, thank you.” – It’s also why I try very hard not to post anything from my previous employment so that they cannot claim I breached protocols and such. Right now, I am rebuilding my portfolio and I don’t mind people sharing my work through the web, but for commissioned or custom work, if you came to me, you need me and my creativity – then pay up.

If the next client comes up and tells me ” Can you do a Boris Vallejo illustration for 10 days only, because we are short on time, and would 5K be enough?” . . .

I would point them to Boris Vallejo’s website and let them try to use one or two of hius creations and let’s see what the man has to say about it.

What do you think? Leave a comment . . .

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.