Full Throttle, baby

Photoshop Doodle

Weeks ago, I was merely trying to draw enough to put into a full coloring book for grownups. But as my recent conversation on Facebook with Marie, whom since our college days, has been a pillar of strength, though she may deny it, but bless her, her mind is a source of pure keen perception.

While I was listening attentively to another dear friend, Sally, who has been tutoring me on the business side of being a startup,  and no, that is not entirely true, Sally has been schooling me on the intimate workings of starting a business based on my skillset, which was drawing and illustrating, and both of  them allows for a very educational foray into the world of taking control of my venture.

Now, to others I may have been focusing on the wrong part of this venture, mainly to create more relevant and enduring artwork. But you must understand, my casual internet visitor, yes, you who is reading this today. I love woodcuts. I love the way a single color can elicit a wide variety of emotion upon the beholder. I am also enamored with comics  and editorial cartoons. I always try to pay homage to these influences. Artists like Javinal, Malgapo, Acuna, Freff, Moebius, among others. Writers and creators like Poblete and Ravelo, Miller, Moore, Gaiman. And all of those unnamed printing pioneers who perfected woodcuts and negatives in the old days of publishing. My own creation may be very far off from these masters, but I try, really I try.

Even with just starting with a coloring book meant for hobbyists and enthusiasts, I try to present my work in a manner that is not merely trying to put out anything, but with purpose and roots.

Which is why the decision to go and learn anything and everything about the business, cost and expenses, marketing and sales, choosing the matrials for the artworks themselves, the right ink, looking for potential investors to bankroll this venture and offer a reasonable ROI for a long term business relationship.

Because ewhen this thing gets rolling there is that possibility I may have to register a business name and pay taxes for it.

Which brings me into looking foir new channels to earn from. Obet led me to a crowdfunding site and it blew me away – Patreon was what i was looking for. Give to an artists who knows what to refer to another artist, but Obet is on an entrely higher plane and I value his thoughts on this matter, too.

So when things get too heavy on my mind….

I make Photoshop Doodles!

What do you think? Leave a comment . . .

