Time For Some New ‘Old School’ Stuff

I don’t mean to be passive, nor insensitive, at what just transpired here. Far from it. But like many of the most popular social network fodder that is being milked and bilked and squeezed by the so-called netizens of the interwebs, I just had to deviate. I am, after all a real deviant.

So, what now?

A couple of weeks ago, I was introduced to a new friend, Mr.Riki Tamashiro by my friend Weng Shimada. Turned out it was something from my childhood couch potato days – wrestling – that paved the way for our paths to meet. We talked  about this maybe a year or so, but was something  only in passing, that a Japanese firm, Reina , wanted to show the Filipino audience. The idea lay in my mind dormant, because with all the work and my delusions of grandeur with publishing my own comics, I almost forgot I agreed to it even before meeting Riki-san.

But they came, and I, for one am excited about this.

So, does anybody know what Joshin Puroresu is? In other parts of the world people have been following this, in Europe, in other parts of Asia, and of course, Mexico and the Latin Americas. I’m surprised no one here had the idea of making a tv show of ProWomen’s Wrestling here on local tv. We have some serious butt-kicking happening with MMA and the UFC, the drama and humor of WWE, but I think the only thing that comes close to describing Joshin is Rey Mysterio – just for the athleticism, the jaw dropping flying stunts, and …

The Mask.

Oh, there is an entirely different form of wrestling gear when it comes to Joshin Puroresu. Think Lucha Libre and you’ll understand what I’m talking about.

But wait!

There’s more!

I needled Riki-san, and he was really glad I asked about stuff. Turns out there is a Filipina blood wreaking havoc with the league,  a real firecracker, and is a champion.

Syuri Kondo, born February 8, 1989 is a Japanese professional wrestler, shoot boxer and kickboxer,  who debuted sometime 2008 as KG, or Karate Girl. No, this fierce 5’4″ & half of martial art skill and devastating kicks is one babe you wouldn’t want to mess with. And she’s a looker too.

I hope a tv network would  carry the matches on local programming. I introduced Riki-san and Weng to one of, I supposed, bigwigs at my tv network, but alas, I think the three of us are disappointed at the treatment. Me, I was aghast at the sheer disrespect of letting a guest, who’s already here, in our country, personally taking the initiative to bring this kind of sportainment that we don’t have. So I guess, I’ll do something about it and ask some friends (I’m not the only one working in the broadcast industry from my college buddies) to connect me with their own people about this.

And if you ever see the name Syuri Kondo, or see the face elsewhere, remember, there are other Filipinas out there who are not just showing off their bikini bods and signature walks, but banging heads and kicking butts inside the ring.

And do expect some Joshin drawing from me. I did a Muscleman animation years ago, time to bring that up somehow. And , lest I forget, these matches held by Reina help fund really practical causes. So if you think re-posting links, and photos of news articles about Haiyan/Yolanda helps, it won’t. So instead of being all keyboard-warrior, why not put together some donaions and really HELP out, okay?

And for some more Joshin Puroresu galleries visit the following links:

https://picasaweb.google.com/109626561853460833336/131102Reina5DumpChika?authkey=Gv1sRgCMrGrajl_4zwIQ#

https://picasaweb.google.com/109626561853460833336/131102Reina4ZeuxisVaquerita?authkey=Gv1sRgCN_dvfGwh4OUaA#

https://picasaweb.google.com/109626561853460833336/131102Reina3LeonSareee?authkey=Gv1sRgCJCIgLHdge-D4gE#

https://picasaweb.google.com/109626561853460833336/131102Reina2Sparks?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKRvMiDk4yMEQ#

https://picasaweb.google.com/109626561853460833336/131102Reina1JennyRose?authkey=Gv1sRgCJKigJW-qenwwgE#

What do you think? Leave a comment . . .

