February Ebb

Rustle, rustle.

Rush, rush.

It’s all about getting there on time and learning the ropes. Can’t believe I just bumped into this. Well, bumped isn’t exactly right. My bro Rico Ibarra asked me to try for a slot at the News Graphics for Radyo Singko, of which I did. And here I am, trying to keep up with the really competitive and very talented art crew of Tv5. I also got the chance to speak freely with Martin, and Terry and Dale,  from Metra , dudes from New Zealand, and it feels like a hobbit chatting with Elves. Cool. They have this really drool-on-your-shirt software that will blow you away. Too bad they’ll be leaving soon to teach other people what they know.

So, what is the mango into these days? Remember Caustic Creations as my own firm? Still is. But the chance to work with a different breed of artists, and the challenge of creating artworks on a different level, is as refreshing as a steaming mug of java – you will enjoy it but you will have to deal with the heat.

And I like it.

Love it, in fact.

Under Dodge Dillague and Mike Velocillo, the head honchos at Graphics Dept., my nights (yes nights, I’m on graveyard shift) my colleagues are really young, talented, bright people whose very accommodating attitude sets the welcome atmosphere and work environment. Maybe I’ll write about them in the days to come.

And what, pray tell, makes this old fart giggle like a school girl?

The Perks.

One. I can get my hands on Orad and Weatherscape. I get to dig deep with Adobe After Effects. My Flash and Photoshop skills gets a updrade. And what bliss to work on a machine that is very high spec and sophisticated. Trust me, pc with a capacity more than 512Mb RAM to me is sophisticated, ha ha ha!

Two. I get to see Cheryl Cosim and Amy Perez on the set, every morning. And a lot of personalities I’m familiar with – Neil Ocampo, Erwin Tulfo, Mr. Patrick Paez ( oh geez, shameless name-dropping!) Life in broadcast media is as normal and calm as a river in the rainy season. Slow is not a word I would choose to use.

And I still need to sleep. Have a lot to accomplish in the next days to come.

News Flash! The coffee vending machine, the first thing I look for on any workplace, chucks out good coffee for only Php10.00. Chew on that!

What do you think? Leave a comment . . .

