“It was raining hard . . .and the streets are flooded!”

If I was still in college and spewed these words to placate a fuming Instructor as a result of my tardiness, I’d be melting in embarassment. Fortunately, this is 2007, a decade and a half AC (after college) and been working for a company, whose Admins/Big Guns are really sensible people. They did not hire me for my good looks so some of my minor offenses like this Thursday is obscured.

It was, primarily my fault, really. I got up at 6:30am, which is unusual because I always wake up at 4:00am and be on the road (walking, not driving. I don’t know how to drive, much less own a car). And yes it was raining hard so I expected water levels to rise and fill the streets with filthy stuff. Sure enough, I was wet like I just came out of the bathroom when I got to the office. I was feeling mighty actually. Because I took the jeepney plying the Libertad-Landmark-via-Pasay RD-route, and was giggling like a school girl when I saw people in their huge SUVs getting all pale and frightened by driving though the flood. We were in a vehicle far inferior and less sophisticated and yet, we were cruising the impromptu swamp like a hovercraft. There were other SUVs that stalled somewhere near Don Bosco. Hah! What good is a 4×4, big wheeled, gas guzzling car if you can’t even negotiate a simple flooded street? And most of us passengers are grinning like cats when we passed a Toyota Fortuner being pushed by a couple of fashion victims along Pasong Tamo.

Hee-hee!

Oh, and we finally got the package and installed our spanking new, all-legal, very expensive Adobe Web Premium Software. More on this next time . . .

What do you think? Leave a comment . . .

